Call Now
1800 102 5277

Magadh University

Updated on: Feb 12, 2013
The Magadh University is one of the largest institutions for providing higher education in the state of Bihar. The university was established when Government of Bihar passed an act in 1961 and it started functioning from 2 March 1962. At the beginning only seven subjects were introduced. These were: English, Economics, Geography, History, Mathematics, Hindi and Philosophy. Dr. K. K. Dutta was the first Vice – Chancellor. He was considered the most distinguished Historians of the country.

Now the Magadh University has 24 Post Graduate Departments, 44 Constituent Colleges and 85 affiliated colleges. A total of 2 thousand teachers are involved in different university departments and colleges for providing instructions. Every year approximately 2 lakh students get enrolled in different university programs viz; graduate, post graduate etc.  The university has jurisdiction over the districts of Gaya, Jehanabad, Patna, Nalanda, Nawada and Aurangabad.

For further information related to Magadh University click on the links provided below:

Subscribe to our newsletter

Learn all about Bihar
Explore our interactive map!